A RESOLUTION OF THE ORANGE COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, REQUESTING THAT THE FLORIDA LEGISLATURE USE ALL SADOWSKI STATE AND LOCAL HOUSING TRUST FUND MONIES SOLELY FOR FLORIDA'S AFFORDABLE HOUSING PROGRAMS.

WHEREAS, Florida counties provide for the housing needs of their current and anticipated populations and assisting lower income families depends upon sufficient housing assistance from federal and state programs; and

WHEREAS, the William E. Sadowski Affordable Housing Act of 1992 provides a dedicated revenue source for the production and preservation of affordable housing, including funding for the local State Housing Initiatives Partnership Program (SHIP); and

WHEREAS, the SHIP program provides funds to local governments as an incentive to create partnerships that produce and preserve affordable homeownership and multifamily housing for very low, low and moderate income families; and

WHEREAS, for the past decade, the Florida Legislature has swept funds from the Sadowski state and local housing trust fund, in full or in part, into general revenue to be used for purposes other than affordable housing; and

WHEREAS, during the regular 2017 legislative session, recognizing the significant shortage of affordable housing, the Florida Legislature created an Affordable Housing Workgroup in Chapter 2017-71, Section 46, Laws of Florida; and

WHEREAS, the Affordable Housing Workshop recommended the Legislature appropriate all Sadowski funds in the State and Local Government Housing Trust Funds solely for Florida's housing programs.

NOW, THEREFORE, be it resolved, the Orange County Board of County Commissioners calls upon the Florida Legislature to appropriate Sadowski state and local housing trust fund monies solely for Florida's affordable housing programs.

DONE AND ORDERED this 20th day of February, 2018. FERESA JACOBS, ORANGE COUNTY MAYO BETSY VANDERLEY, ORANGE COUNTY **BRYAN NELSON, ORANGE COUNTY COMMISSIONER-ELECT, DISTRICT 2 COMMISSIONER, DISTRICT 1** JENNIFER THØMPSON, ORANGE COUNTY PETE CLARKE, ORANGE COUNTY **COMMISSIONER, DISTRICT 4 COMMISSIONER, DISTRICT 3**

EMILY BONILLA, ORANGE COUNTY COMMISSIONER, DISTRICT 5

VICTORIA P. SIPLIN, ORANGE COUNTY COMMISSIONER-ELECT, DISTRICT 6