

AGENDA DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

201 South Rosalind Avenue • Reply To: Post Office Box 1393 • Orlando, Florida 32802-1393 407-836-5426 • Fax: 407-836-2899 • www.orangecountyfl.net

October 19, 2017

TO:

Mayor Teresa Jacobs

-AND-

Board of County Commissioners

FROM:

Cheryl J. Gillespie, Supervisor

Agenda Development Office

SUBJECT:

Appointments to the Tourist Development Tax Grant Application

Review Committee

CONSENT AGENDA ITEM OCTOBER 31, 2017

The Tourist Development Tax Grant Application Review Committee is composed of 11 members, two recommended by the Mayor, one recommended by each County Commissioner, and three recommended by the Tourist Development Council (TDC). Of the three TDC recommendations, two slots are represented by owners or operators of tourist accommodations in Orange County and one slot is represented by community arts organizations in Orange County. All members shall be Orange County registered voters, and financial disclosure is required upon appointment. The terms are for four years; however, initial terms are staggered to provide for successive membership. All appointments are made by the Board.

Board appointment of the following recommendations is requested.

- Appointment of Terry Prather and Derek Baum as Mayor's representatives as requested by Mayor Jacobs with terms expiring December 31, 2018.
- 2) Appointment of Louis Robbins as the District 1 representative as requested by Commissioner VanderLey with a term expiring December 31, 2020.
- 3) Appointment of Beverly Winesburgh as the District 2 representative as requested by Commissioner Nelson with a term expiring December 31, 2018.
- 4) Appointment of Martha Haynie as the District 3 representative as requested by Commissioner Clarke with a term expiring December 31, 2020.
- 5) Appointment of Ross Burke as the District 4 representative as requested by Commissioner Thompson with a term expiring December 31, 2018.

Subject: Appointments to the Tourist Development Tax Grant Application Review Committee
October 19, 2017
Page 2

- 6) Appointment of Lizette Valarino as the District 5 representative as requested by Commissioner Bonilla with a term expiring December 31, 2020.
- 7) Appointment of Lex Veech as the District 6 representative as requested by Commissioner Siplin with a term expiring December 31, 2018.
- 8) Appointment of John McGavin in the owner/operator representative category as requested by the TDC with a term expiring December 31, 2020.
- Appointment of Brian Comes in the owner/operator representative category as requested by the TDC with a term expiring December 31, 2018.
- 10) Appointment of Joshua Vickery in the community arts organizations representative category as requested by the TDC with a term expiring December 31, 2020.

Copies of advisory board applications for appointment for these candidates are available upon request.

Please let me know if you require further information.

Subject: Appointments to the Tourist Development Tax Grant Application Review Committee October 19, 2017 Page 3

ACTION REQUESTED:

Appointment to the Tourist Development Tax Grant Application Review Committee of 1) Terry and Derek Baum as Mavor's representatives with terms expiring December 31, 2018; 2) Louis Robbins as the District 1 representative with a term expiring December 31, 2020; 3) Beverly Winesburgh as the District 2 representative with a term expiring December 31, 2018; 4) Martha Haynie as the District 3 representative with a term expiring December 31, 2020; 5) Ross Burke as the District 4 representative with a term expiring December 31, 2018; 6) Lizette Valarino as the District 5 representative with a term expiring December 31, 2020; 7) Lex Veech as the District 6 representative with a term expiring December McGavin 31. 2018: 8) John in the owner/operator representative category with a term expiring December 31, 2020; 9) Brian Comes in the owner/operator representative category with a term expiring December 31, 2018; and 10) Joshua Vickery in the community arts organizations representative category with a term expiring December 31, 2020.