

May 7, 2018

TO:

Mayor Teresa Jacobs

-AND-

Board of County Commissioners

FROM:

Ajit M. Lalchandani, County Administrator

SUBJECT:

Appointments to the 2018 Value Adjustment Board

DISCUSSION AGENDA ITEM MAY 22, 2018

The Value Adjustment Board (VAB) is composed of two members of the governing body of the county as elected from the membership of the board, one of whom shall be elected chairperson; one citizen member appointed by the governing body of the county who must own homestead property within the county; one member of the school board as elected from the membership of the school board; and one citizen member who owns a business occupying commercial space within the school board district and is elected by the school board. A list indicating how many times each of the Commissioners, Mayor, and citizen members have served on the VAB is attached for your review.

On March 21, 2017, Commissioner Bonilla and former Commissioner Nelson were appointed to the 2017 VAB, and Commissioners Siplin and VanderLey were appointed as alternates. David W. Robinson was appointed as the citizen member, and Robert W. Caldwell was appointed as the alternate citizen member.

At the May 22, 2018 meeting the Board will be asked to appoint two Board members and one citizen member to the 2018 VAB and designate two Board members and one citizen member as alternates. Mr. Robinson and Mr. Caldwell have both indicated their willingness to serve, again.

Please call me if you have any questions.

ACTION REQUESTED

Appointment of two Board members and one citizen member to the 2018 Value Adjustment Board and the designation of two alternate Board members and one alternate citizen member.

AML/cjg

Attachment

CC:

Jeffrey J. Newton, County Attorney

Katie Smith, Manager, Comptroller Clerk's Office

VALUE ADJUSTMENT BOARD APPOINTMENTS

Commissioner VanderLey

2016, 2017 (alt)

Commissioner Love

Commissioner Clarke

2013 (alt), 2014, 2015, 2016

Commissioner Thompson 2011 (alt), 2012 (alt), 2014 (alt)

Commissioner Bonilla

2017

Commissioner Siplin

2015 (alt), 2016 (alt), 2017 (alt)

Mayor Jacobs

Citizen (David W. Robinson)

2009 (alt), 2010 (alt), 2011 (alt), 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017

Alternate Citizen (Robert W. Caldwell)

2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017