

AGENDA DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

201 South Rosalind Avenue • Reply To: Post Office Box 1393 • Orlando, Florida 32802-1393 407-836-5426 • Fax: 407-836-2899 • www.orangecountyfl.net

January 30, 2019

TO:

Mayor Jerry L. Demings

-AND-

Board of County Commissioners

FROM:

Cheryl J. Gillespie, Supervisor

Agenda Development Office

SUBJECT:

Appointment to Community Action Board

CONSENT AGENDA ITEM FEBRUARY 12, 2019

The Community Action Board (CAB) is responsible for development, review, supervision, evaluation, and making recommendations for final approval of all fiscal and program policies, plans, priorities, proposals, budgets, and any other activities to be conducted by Orange County Community Action. The CAB consists of three sectors: public sector, private sector, and low income community sector.

The Board of County Commissioners appoints the eight members of the public sector, which is composed of up to three County Commissioners, up to three elected officials from three different municipalities located in Orange County, up to two members representing the state of Florida or United States Congress, and one member of the Orange County School Board. The municipality slots rotate among the 11 municipalities in Orange County (Apopka, Belle Isle, Eatonville, Edgewood, Maitland, Oakland, Ocoee, Orlando, Winter Garden, Winter Park, and Windermere).

There is currently one vacancy on the CAB for a municipal representative due to the term expiration of City of Winter Garden Commissioner Mark A. Maciel. Winter Garden has been represented on the CAB for two terms; therefore, this slot must rotate to the next municipality on the list, which is the City of Edgewood. The City of Edgewood has nominated Mayor Ray A. Bagshaw to succeed Commissioner Maciel with a term expiring December 31, 2022. A copy of Mayor Bagshaw's advisory board application for appointment is available upon request.

Please let me know if you require further information.

ACTION REQUESTED:

Appointment of Mayor Ray A. Bagshaw to the Community Action Board in the municipal elected official category with a term expiring December 31, 2022.