

2020 ORANGE COUNTY CHARTER REVIEW COMMISSION (CRC)

MEMORANDUM

TO: 2020 CRC Members

FROM: Katie Smith, Comptroller Deputy Clerk

Clerk of the Board Department

DATE: February 18, 2019

SUBJECT: February 25, 2019 - Agenda Item

Request for Proposal (RFP) for CRC General Counsel

General Counsel to the CRC is independent from the Orange County Board of County Commissioners (BCC) and provides legal advice only to the CRC. Orange County Government defrays all costs of the CRC including legal services. The County is committed to a full and open competitive procurement process. As such, all awards are made in accordance with Orange County Code and procedures. These procedures are to establish a fair, equitable and impartial process by which awards are given.

The Comptroller Clerk of the Board Department, as initiator, provided the Orange County Procurement Division with the approved budget and selection criteria for General Counsel. The selection criteria was established during past CRC cycles. In accordance with the Orange County Procurement Ordinance, the division on February 12, 2019, issued RFP Y19-1028-TJ, including identification of evaluation criteria and weights.

A Procurement Committee will be formed for the purpose of reviewing and scoring proposer responses. The committee will be comprised of the CRC Chair, two CRC member delegates, one BCC commissioner and three county staff members.

The following Procurement Committee timelines apply:

Tuesday, March 5 Mandatory County Procurement Committee Training 3:00 pm – 4:30 pm Comptroller's Martha O. Haynie Conference Room

Wednesday, March 13 RFP Responses delivered to Procurement Committee

Wednesday, March 27 Mandatory Procurement Committee Meeting

TBD - After 1:00 pm

ACTION REQUESTED: Appoint the CRC Chair and two CRC members delegates to serve on the Procurement Committee.

James R. Auffant – Jack Douglas – Russell Drake – Camille Evans – John E. Fauth – Matthew Klein – Jeffrey A. Miller – Samuel Vilchez Santiago – Soraya Smith – Lee Steinhauer – Eugene Stoccardo – Anthony (Tony) Suarez – Carmen Torres – Dotti Wynn